Fuller House – Season Review

Hello Again! Oh how I missed writing about TV. Don’t think I stopped watching. I just haven’t had time to film any new videos. Which is why today I am writing a blog post about a little big show that I just need to talk about: FULLER HOUSE

Fuller House Netflix

Way, way back in the nineties, there was a little show called FULL HOUSE. I won’t say I loved it as much as many people did, but I do remember watching TONS of episodes (caps needed). It was sweet and corny, funny but still emotional show. Why don’t people make shows like that anymore?

Full House original cast

There are many online streamers nowadays, but we can all agree that Netflix is the most popular one. Not only it has a whole lot more programs than other sites, it has a bunch of original shows, and now..oh my.. revivals! Fuller House is not the first revival aired, but is the first one I’ve watched.

The original Full House was about the Tanner Family. Danny Tanner, widowed father of three girls, who enlists his best friend and his brother-in-law to help raise his three daughters. The show aired from 1987 to 1995, broadcasting eight seasons and 192 episodes. Widely popular not only in the States, but in many countries all around the globe. Leaving us with many beloved characters, catch-phrases and big fat bear-hugs at the end of each episode. The original show ends with D.J. Tanner (the eldest daughter) going to prom. And the whole family together, happy and hugging each other. I had to look that up, because I have no memory of it.

SPOILER ALERT!

This revival/spin-off/reboot centers around D.J. Tanner now D.J. Fuller, who loses her fireman husband and has now three young boys to raise all on her own. I understand how poetic the whole situation is, but it is still pretty mean. Call it the circle of life or “Life is a B**ch. Is up to you.
Alright. So D.J. Fuller moves back to San Francisco with her children, and ends up moving back into her childhood home. Her younger sister Stephanie and best friend Kimmy (and her kid) move in with them to help D.J. out in her time of need.

I have seen so many negative comments about the first episode and how cheesy it was, but I kinda loved it! Yes it was cheesy, overly-sentimental, with flashbacks and repeating some of the original show’s scenes, but I took it as a way for the cast and crew to thank the fans for all the love and support after so many years.
It took me, about a week I guess, to watch all 13 episodes. I watched two or three a day. Some were really funny and sweet, a couple other were…a bit meh for me. But after I finished the season, I wanted more. It has all the sweet, cheesiness and funny and emotional things I used to love  from the original, but it also, a bit slowly, showed that it is definitely not a nineties show. TV shows and society has evolved, the way we now take TV humor has changed, and I think that’s where the show might have struggled a bit.

Luckily the show did really well and has now being approved for a second season. Yay!

Now for some particular thoughts:
– The “shade” to the Olsen Twins was almost always subtle, and awesome. Let’s see if “Michelle” makes it home next season.
– The obsession with Stephanie’s boobs was driving me mad. I felt a bit much sometimes.
– I can not. Can. Not. Stand Fernando. What an annoying character. I was so very happy when they did not get married at the end of the season. I didn’t find him funny or interesting. He’s a cheater, let’s forgive him? I think not.
– The love triangle. The problem for me is that it felt rushed. And D.J. was moving fast with both guys, and her whole family was ok with it. It was a bit weird and much for me. In case you are wondering, I don’t have a ship. But maybe I’ll make up my mind next season.
– The emotional moments, specially the sad ones were very well done. I almost (kind of) cried when Steph said she can’t have kids.
– The kids! Cuteness alert times a thousand. Specially Max. He was by far my favorite character. So adorable and funny and cute. Oh, I could just eat him up!
– The catch-phrases. Was it totally silly? Yes. Did I totally love it? Absolutely! “Holy Chalupas” is my new favorite expression.

It was wonderful to have the original Full House cast (the adults) showing up in different episodes. They care about each other as family. And it shows on screen. I will for sure watch Season 2.

Final Thoughts
I didn’t totally and absolutely loved it. If it was a regular show airing every week, I might not have remembered to watch every week. But I did like it a lot and I hope that next season is even better. With more sweetness, and cheesiness and emotional happy and sad moments that make me want to watch old shows from when I was growing up.

Did you know about Fuller House? Did you watch it? Who was your favorite character? Have a favorite moment? Will you watch next season? Let me know in the comments bellow.

Thanks for stopping by. Hope you liked my little general review of Fuller House. This was not sponsored or anything like that. This was just me truly wanting to share my thoughts about the show.

By the way. I will try to do a mani as well and post it separately.

Love and Smiles, Jessi

InstagramFacebook Twitter Pinterest – Bloglovin’

Let's chat!

