The Polished Bookworms – Big Little Lies

Hello Again! I am finally back blogging!

Late last year or early in January (I lose track of time when I’m on holiday) the lovely Lindsey from Wondrously Polished posted a photo on instagram and said something about a loving nail art and books and the idea of a book club. A lot of other Nail Art lovers, me included, told her is was a fantastic idea. Next thing I know I’m getting an invite to join the newly created “The Polished Bookworms”.

The book club was created for those who love both nails and books. We picked Liane Moriarty’s ‘Big Little Lies‘ as our January read, and the idea is that at the end of the month (if you want) share a many inspired by the book. This is what I came up with.

The Polished Bookworms Big Little Lies Jessii Brownie

I absolutely loved the book. And my inspiration came from my favorite character Jane. I will not give spoilers of the book here but I will do a mini review at the end of the post.

On to Nail Talk!
My pinky and ring finger describe Jane: jeans and a plain white v-neck t-shirt. On my middle finger I wanted to represent both her (and mine) love for jigsaws and also the black and white jigsaw on Tom’s place (great things happened that day). For my other two fingers I wanted to showcase the beach, near her house, the school and the Blue Blues.

Polishes Used:
Revlon Colorstay “Coastral Surf” and Top Speed “Espresso”, Sally Hansen “Blue it”, Color Club “Secret Rendezvous” and “Take me to your Chateu”, LA Colors “Whipped”, Valmy in the colors 168, 29 and 153, EssieCocktail Bling” (a new adition thanks to the airport’s duty free) and last but not least Kleancolor “Winter Waltz”.

Other polishes used:
Base Coat: OPI Nail Envy (Original Formula) / Top Coat: Orly Glosser

The Polished Bookworms Big Little Lies Jessii Brownie The Polished Bookworms Big Little Lies Jessii Brownie

Book Review

Big Little Lies by Jane Moriarty

This was I book I don’t think I would have found on my own but I am so glad it found its way to me. The book deals with bullying, in many ways and forms. You go through the minds of three women, Madeline, Celeste and Jane. Their lives, and the events that led to a death on their children’s School Trivia Night.

The book keeps you guessing, coming up with theories, throwing twists and turns. Surprising you all the way through. I am glad that I got a couple of my theories right, but many others were wrong, so very wrong, but never the less..I loved the book. I will read more from this author and I am looking forward for my next ‘The Polished Bookworms’ mani.

I am new to book reviewing. It is not something I will do very often. But you can follow the book club on Instagram: instagram.com/thepolishedbookworms to find out what our next book will be, to check this month’s creations that have been shared there (you can also go through the hashtag #thepolishedbookworms) and hey, maybe you can join us. Doing your nails at the end of the month is not mandatory. And it can be as easy or intricate as you desire.

Love and Smiles, Jessi

InstagramFacebook Twitter Pinterest – Bloglovin’

Let's chat!

