The Blue Umbrella inspired nails

Who doesn’t like a themed mani? Specially when is something cute!
If you follow my blog you may know by now that I take inspiration from anything I see, but I find it really fulfilling translating movies and books onto my nails. I don’t know why.
Today my inspiration came from one of (my many)  favorite Pixar Shorts: “The Blue Umbrellathe blue umbrella - pixar short 2013 - monsters university

This short was released last year alongside the Disney-Pixar movie “Monsters University”.
Back then I was to afraid to try a Blue and Red mani (the main characters as I call them), but now that I have been blogging nail art for almost a year I wanted to give it a try.
(if you haven’t seen the short I will link the full video at the end of this post)

On to Nail Talk!
My pinky and thumb are made with little multi-colored cirles that I selected and applied one by one. YES it took a really long time, but I wanted to represent the city lights and the rain in a really pretty way.
And if you remember, I also did this for my The Perks of Being a Wallflower mani last year.

I didn’t want to use black because faces of the characters are black and you might thing is the body. They are umbrellas, just FYI, so I went for a shiny violet base for my index finger and I added a blue and a read heart on the top to the right.
Now for the main characters, as I call them, Red and Blue (ladies first people), on my middle and ring fingers respectively. I used the read and the blue as my base colors, and then I shaped the umbrella with dark violet and freehanded the face for both characters.
This part took forever and I am not 100% pleased. But I like the fact that the faces on my nails at least resemble the real faces from the short.the blue umbrella - pixar short 2013 - monsters university 2

Polishes used:
Revlon Parfumerie “Wild Violets” and “China Flowers”, Revlon Colorstay “Coastral Surf” and Valmy “Negro”. I also used a rapid-graph to sketch the faces on my nails before using black nail polish, that way if I made a mistake I could fix it without having to start the whole nail over.
I just realized used mostly Revlon nail polishes, LOL.the blue umbrella - pixar short 2013 - monsters university 3

As I promised here is the link to the full short in HD. You’re welcome.
[The Blue Umbrella (2013)]the blue umbrella - pixar short 2013 - monsters university 2

Thank you guys reading me today. And please follow and share my blog with your friends.

Check my social networks for more randomness nail art related and not so nail art related.

Love and Smiles, Jessi

InstagramFacebook Twitter Pinterest – Bloglovin’

Let's chat!

