Ode to Summer

Oh the summer, the breeze, the fun, the vacation time (for some of you guys out there)
For today’s post I’m changing things up a bit. I did my first “Bestie Twin Nail” with nailsbysmr over on Instagram and I will do a pictorial of my nails over here. It will be my first time doing this so…sorry for whatever goes wrong.OdeToSummer1The design was mainly my idea but I do have to thank Stephanie for all her input and help creating this design you see today

On to Nail Talk!
First things first. I’ve been using Revlon “Cuticle softener” only before applying my Valmy “Nail Hardening” base coat. It says you can do it everyday, but I’m lazy. I’ve seen a bit of a difference though, my cuticles seem a lot less dry, which is good, very good.

Now for the pictorial. Let’s begin with my pinky.

I started by applying just one coat of Sally Hansen “Lacy Lilac”. Then used the dry brush technique to create the background using Essie “Purple” and OPI “Don’t you lilac it?”
For the coconut drink I used Valmy “Color 168”, Revlon  Top Speed “Espresso” and LA Colors Color Craze “Whipped”. For the straws Sally Hansen “Coral Reef” and “Sun Kissed”
coconut drinkI  did a coconut drink before for Olaf Nails

My ring finger is an ocean and a star fish. For the ocean I used TheNailasaurus tutorial.
The colors used were Valmy “Tiza”, Sally Hansen“Blue It”, “Breezy Blue” Revlon Colorstay “Coastral Surf” and Essie “I’m addicted”
Finding Nemo is one of my favorite movies, so the starfish had to be pink for Peach. I used LA Colors Color Craze “Pink Bubbles” and Sally Hansen “Coral Reef”
star fish

In the Summer whether you go to the beach or the pool you need a towel. Mine is in my middle finger is a wavy colorful towel. To make it I used Valmy “Tiza”, Essie “I’m addicted”, Revlon Parfumerie “China Flower”, OPI “I just can’t cope-acabana” and Sally Hansen “Coral Reef”, “Green with envy” and “Lacy lilac”beach towel

Walking in the sand is something that just makes you feel good. Plus it exfoliates your feet for free.
So my index finger is just that, sand. And I added a little purple flip-flop because well, purple is my favorite color.
To create the sand texture I used the Sara Wrap technique (where you dot your colors and with a crunched clear plastic you mix the colors a bit and put them on your finger). You can probably tell I went a little cray-cray with it on mine.
For the sand: LA Colors Color Craze “Whipped”, NYX Matte “Matte Chocolate” and Valmy “Color 168”
For the flip-flop: Essie ‘Purple” and Sally Hansen “Lacy lilac”
flipflop
Lastly my thumb is a sexy bikini!
For some reason I get a 50’s – 60’s vibe with a red and white polka dotted bikini. I imagine the bottom high waisted
Oh the fells. Wish I had this bikini in my closet.
I applied two fairly thick coats of Pure Ice “Shell Pink” for the skin and LA Colors Color Craze “Whipped” for the belly button
For the bikini I used Revlon Parfumerie “China Flower” and Valmy “Tiza”
bikini
I topped everything off with Lay-Pro “BES” fast drying Top Coat.

Doing this mani took forever but it was so much fun. I love the final look and Steph’s mani is super cute too. Here are both Stephanie’s and mine together. Make sure you head over to Instagram and like this picbestie

There are no nail polish close-ups today. Mainly because I forgot to take the photos and afterwards I thought it would make this post extra long and you probably don’t want to read a super long boring post.OdeToSummer3 OdeToSummer2

Thank you guys reading me today. Leave your thoughts in the comments section bellow and if you recreate this look don’t forget to tag me so I can see it!

Love and Smiles, Jessi

InstagramFacebook Twitter Pinterest – Bloglovin’

Let's chat!

