Divergent Nails

Hello Divergent Nation, and everyone else as well!

With no guilt of any kind I confess: I am a total bookworm and I really loved Divergent when I read it last January. I was waiting until I could go see the movie to do “Divergent Nails”, and people….the day has come!! Oh Yeah!

I will not spoil this book/movie or the other two (it’s a trilogy in case you did not know), but in Divergent we read everything from Tris Prior’s perspective and we get to “watch” her growth from a little girl who must keep quite to the young lady that kicks butt…hard. I say young lady because she is very young.

Today is a sad day tough, because even though I finished my nails on time, it turned out that my plans to go to the theater fell flat and I was not able to go see the movie.
Never the less, I will not let that get me down, the excitement for Divergent Nails will continue. Let me show you what I did so I can go on talking writing about it.

instagram1

Just to tell you a bit more about it. Divergent is the first of three books written by Veronica Roth. Divergent takes place in Chicago, a few generations in the future from now. This dystopian society is separated into 5 factions: Dauntless, Erudite, Candor, Amity and Abnegation.
Tris, who is the inpiration for this mani, was borned and raised in Abnegation (gray) but after her Aptitude Test she decided to leave her Faction and become a Dauntless (black).
I could go on forever with this and explain everything in detail, but if you follow this blog you probably don’t want me babbling about books no more, so I will stop and move…

On to Nail Talk!
I wanted my nails to showcase Tris’ transition from Abnegation to Dauntless. That is why I began painting my pinky gray, Abnegation’s representative color.
My ring and middle fingers are a nude base with three birds with open wings: Tris’ tatoo.
Dauntless color is black, and that is what I used in my index finger.
Last but not least, my thumb is a nude base with the Dauntless logo: a flame inside a circle.

Both nail details were done with a thin brush.
If I had a sixth finger I would have done the Abnegation logo, but I don’t so…no extra logo for you guys today. Plus, the Abnegation logo, two shaking hands inside a circle, is hard to draw on the nails.

instagram2

What I used:
Valmy “Re-Hydrating” and “Regenerator” base coats
Santee Plus “Perfect Silver”
LA Colors Color Craze “Whipped”
Valmy Nail Art “Color 1”
Lay-Pro “Color 69” top coat
– Thin brush

instagram3

instagram4

instagram5

I apologize if I was writing a little too much, I am so exited for the movie. The books are always much, much better but I have great expectations for this movie and of course for super sexy Theo James as Four.

Let me know in the comments bellow what you think of this mani. And if you saw the movie, what did you think?

instagram6

Thanks for reading me today! I will come back with an Easter nail post on Monday, have a great weekend

Love and Smiles, Jessi

Let's chat!

